The 2016 Western Legacy Awards recipients pictured above are (left to right) Robert Anderson, Logan Fyke, Inn for the Cold (Neil Smith, Janeen Webb), and Darby Young.


2015 Western Legacy Awards - Recipients

On Thursday, November 12, 2015 the Calgary Stampede honoured two outstanding community builders, three inspiring individuals and one remarkable group for their contributions to southern Alberta.

  • Chairman’s Award – M. Ann McCaig and Steve Snyder – Recognized for their vision, leadership and commitment as co-chairs of the Calgary Stampede Foundation We’re Greatest Together, capital campaign, the results of which are transforming Stampede Park with a lasting legacy by creating ENMAX Park, Youth Campus and the Agriculture Discovery Zone.
  • Youth – Quinn Clark – Nominated for his thirst for volunteering, work with Calgary Urban Project Society (CUPS) and support to improve access to adequate and nutritious food with Quinn’s Challenge.
  • Innovation – Brad Fisher – Nominated for creating a remarkable program to aid Calgary’s homeless community through spiritual healing experiences for individuals in distress.
  • Sustained Contribution, Individual – Chuck Groeneveld – Nominated for his tireless commitment to agriculture for over 50 years in Southern Alberta to share the traditions and changes within the beef and agriculture industry.
  • Sustained Contribution, Group – The Doorway – Nominated for being a bridge between the street and mainstream cultures for youth in community to learn and develop the tools to attain sustainable economic independence.

Established in 2005, three awards (Sustained Contribution, Innovation, Youth) traditionally recognize people from Calgary and the surrounding area who have acted on their visions to create a better community.

WLA Past Recipients


2014 Sustained Contribution (Individual) Rick Hanson
  Sustained Contribution (Group) Project Warmth Society of Alberta
  Innovation Janice McTighe
  Youth Wentao Li
2013 Sustained Contribution (Individual) Rick Smith
  Sustained Contribution (Group) Children’s Hospital Aid Society
  Innovation Brian Nimjean & Paul Wagman
  Youth Carson Reiser


Centennial Edition 100 Outstanding Albertans
2011 Sustained Contribution (Individual) Larry and Mitzie Wasyliw
  Sustained Contribution (Group) RCMP Veteran's Association
  Innovation Bill Dunn
  Youth Sheliza Kassam
2010 Sustained Contribution (Individual) Gordon Hoffman
  Sustained Contribution (Group) Rotary Club of Calgary
  Innovation Rita Egizii, Barbara Cunnings-Versaevel and John Stephure (posthumously) of Wellspring Calgary
  Youth Alyx Nanji
  Calgary Stampede Chairman's Award Ron Carey
2009 Sustained Contribution (Individual) George Ward
  Sustained Contribution (Group) Boys and Girls Club of Calgary
  Innovation John Ayer
  Youth Justine MacDonald
2008 Sustained Contribution Dr. Margaret (Marmie) Hess
  Innovation Cheadle Lions Club – World Foodgrains Bank project
  Youth Rob Aronson
  Calgary Stampede Chairman’s Award Joe Carbury
2007 Sustained Contribution Jack Toth
Bill Collins
  Innovation Galileo Educational Network
  Youth Chantika and Christian Hazell
2006 Sustained Contribution Eddie Cochlan
  Innovation Lindsay Lehr
  Youth Ryan Hodgson
2005 Sustained Contribution Lenore and Roy McLean
  Innovation Frits Pannekoek
  Youth Ryan Perez