M. Ann McCaig, C.M., A.O.E., LL.D.

Foundation Board Chair Emeritus

Mrs. McCaig is one of Canada’s most prominent leaders in the not-for-profit sector, a well-known advocate in the areas of youth, education and health and an accomplished fundraiser.

Born and raised in Tisdale, Saskatchewan, Ann has maintained a life-long commitment to caring about others and giving back to her community, she is passionate about continuous learning and works tirelessly to ensure the highest possible quality of life for future generations.

As a champion for the cause of advanced education and research, Ann has strong ties to the University of Calgary where she is Chancellor Emeritus and a former member of the Board of Governors. In 2016 the University named a road in their new West Campus development ‘McCaig Street’ in honour of Ann’s contributions. Ann is also a Director Emeritus of the Gairdner Foundation, a former Trustee of the Killam Trusts and a former Director of the Banff Centre Foundation.

Ann has an equally strong passion for health care and community development. She is the Honourary Chair of the Alberta Bone and Joint Health Institute and Chair Emeritus of the Calgary Health Trust. Ann also served as the Chair of the Calgary Foundation and she was a Cabinet member for the Resolve Campaign to End Homelessness.

Western heritage and the development of a vibrant arts and culture sector are important to Ann. She has been a devoted and long time volunteer with the Calgary Stampede Foundation. She currently serves as the Foundation’s Chair Emeritus after having helped raise over $100 million as Co-chair of the ‘We’re Greatest Together’ capital campaign.

In the last 30 years, Ann has lead successful campaigns for numerous major institutions in Calgary. She is the recipient of the Order of Canada, the Alberta Order of Excellence and two honorary degrees. In 2012 she received the Generosity of Spirit Award for Outstanding Lifetime Philanthropist and in 2015 Ann was given the name ‘White Wolf Woman’ by Blackfoot Elder Casey Eaglespeaker in recognition of her support for Alberta’s First Nations people.

Return to Board of Directors